Unpacking the Book of Ruth: Elimelech

In conjunction with HelloMornings, I’ve just started a journey through the book of Ruth.  I can’t wait to see what gets unpacked along the way.

Until today I have never questioned why Elimelech led his family to Moab; I figured it was self-preservation.  Reflecting on the setting, I now understand that He traded the God-promised land of Israel for a place of provision outside of God’s protection. (Life in the Promised Land probably didn’t meet with expectations.  But then, people don’t really like being punished for sin, do they?)

It seems reasonable to think that God might have been ready to give up on His people, but He didn’t.

“When the LORD raised up judges for them, the LORD was with the judge and delivered them from the hand of their enemies all the days of the judge; for the LORD was moved to pity by their groaning because of those who oppressed and afflicted them.  Judges 2:18 (NASB)

So even when things look dismal, I have to remember that I’m a citizen of Heaven, remind myself that God is with me, remain faithful, and walk forward in faith.  My circumstances need not dictate my level of faithfulness and belief.

I look forward to sharing more personal discoveries as I walk through Ruth over the next six weeks.

Have you recently made a new discovery while reading a familiar passage of scripture? I’d love to hear about it!

Blessings,

Cheli

About Cheli Sigler

Finding and uncovering purpose in the roles of wife, mother, educator, and follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in February 2014, HelloMornings! Challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Unpacking the Book of Ruth: Elimelech

  1. katrina says:

    l Love this line, “My circumstances need not dictate my level of faithfulness and belief.” I need this reminder everyday as I struggle with letting circumstances dictate how I feel and subsequently make decisions.

Leave a Reply

