Pondering a Pauline Prayer

“My prayer is that as your minds sharpen, your hearts will soften.”  These are words that I shared with my World History and World Geography students at the start of a school year or semester.  I wanted my students to broaden their perspective of their place in the world.  That there is more to the world than our small corner.

Paul has been my teacher this week (Ephesians 1: 15-23, NIV), and he is praying that I and other believers would embrace God’s “big picture” for us.  God wants us to tap into the fullness of Him.

17 I keep asking that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the glorious Father, may give you the Spirit of wisdom and revelation, so that you may know him better.

Paul prayed for believers– for me– that we would listen for and heed revelation and wisdom from our Heavenly Father.  God’s wisdom is available to us through Bible study, in prayer, in worship and through Godly counsel.

18 I pray also that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which he has called you, the riches of his glorious inheritance in the saints, 19 and his incomparably great power for us who believe.

As our minds focus on the heart of God, Paul prays that  “the eyes of our heart” will be opened to see fully and completely–

our HOPE in Christ,

our INHERITANCE in Christ, and

the POWER of God made available in Christ.

That power is like the working of his mighty strength, 20 which he exerted in Christ when he raised him from the dead and seated him at his right hand in the heavenly realms,

My head working hard to conceive; my heart overwhelmed with the truth of it– God wants His power at work in me!  Really?  I keep going back.  Looking at the words.  Reading them over and over.  Really.

This is “big picture” POWER, the same power of God that raised Christ Jesus from the dead!  God’s power at work for my redemption and eternal life, but also for homeschooling, parenting, marriage, ministry, friendship– all aspects of my living.  But, how?

22 And God placed all things under his feet and appointed him to be head over everything for the church, 23 which is his body, the fullness of him who fills everything in every way.

Oh, yes!  There it is.  God’s power gets unleashed and revealed in me when I yield control to Jesus– when I relinquish my control for His.  He must increase!  I must decrease– daily surrender. (see John 3:30)

Thank you, Paul, for praying this prayer for me.  Thank you for helping me to see a bigger picture of what God purposed for me.

Today I’m reflecting on the personal application of Ephesians 1: 15-23 as part of a Quench Bible study, “Glorious Grace” with my HelloMornings Facebook group.  I’m linking this blog with others at the HelloMornings blog on Glorious Grace Friday (actually, it’s Saturday for me).

Blessings,

Cheli

About Cheli Sigler

Finding and uncovering purpose in the roles of wife, mother, educator, and follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pondering a Pauline Prayer

  1. Sandy says:

    That quote at the beginning has struck a cord with me cause i see how its the same with our study of God’s word – that it is not just of head knowledge to “know more bible” but that we would sincerely have a softened heart which results in life change. Another great post Cheli – I look forward to reading more 🙂

  2. Jamie says:

    I love this: “There it is. God’s power gets unleashed and revealed in me when I yield control to Jesus– when I relinquish my control for His.” We think we have power when we are in control, but there is more power available when we let go and submit!!! I needed this. Thank you, friend.

Leave a Reply

