Stop! Brake! –Broken

A new driver, my dad let me drive the family home from the State Fair in our Aerostar minivan.  We got in some traffic, and I was going a little too fast for the situation.  At the moment that I realized I needed to stop my dad was pressing his feet like he was braking.  Unfortunately, for me, for him, for the windshield, my dad was resting his feet on the dashboard.  He yelled, “Stop!  Brake!”  I did, and then—CRACK!  Broken.  It was broken—a web-like crack across the length of the windshield.

broken-windshield1

Melancholy types, my dad and I were silent.  My dad was trying to keep a lid on his anger, I was trying to keep a lid on the tears, and my mom and sister were doing all they could to keep from laughing.

I’m just glad that when I am broken– torn in two by this and that;  Jesus holds it all together, and fits the pieces back together.

…. but all the broken and dislocated pieces of the universe – people and things, animals and atoms – get properly fixed and fit together in vibrant harmonies, all because of his death, his blood that poured down from the Cross.  Colossians 1:20 (MSG)

I’m joining Lisa Jo Baker at her Facebook page today for the Five Minute Friday challenge.  Freely writing without editing or correcting for five minutes.  Today the prompt is– Broken.

About Cheli Sigler

Finding and uncovering purpose in the roles of wife, mother, educator, and follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Five Minute Friday, July 2013 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Stop! Brake! –Broken

  1. Leigh Kay says:

    You leave me wanting more! 🙂 Great story to tie into this Broken prompt. 🙂 You and I were comment neighbors tonight and I wanted to come “hooray” for a fellow writer sister. Have a wonderful week!!

  2. SM says:

    Loved your inclusion of Collossians… I didn’t quite find just the verse I was looking for… so glad I had the opportunity to read your blog!

  3. Cheri Novak says:

    One of my all time favorite family stories. I tensed up.reading as if I was trying to stifle the giggles.again. Nice tie to Colossians….

  4. Chandra says:

    Beautiful illustration! I love “I’m just glad that when I am broken– torn in two by this and that; Jesus holds it all together, and fits the pieces back together.” Yes, he does, indeed. Thank you for sharing your story on “broken”.

  5. Jessica says:

    love that you tied in a story to the prompt and yes it leaves me wanting more too! great post!

    Jessica
    http://mybeautifulli.blogspot.com/2013/07/five-minute-friday-broken.html

  6. kalconz says:

    l love your story, too. I also love that translation of Colossions. “Vibrant harmony” is a great word picture.

  7. Pingback: Five Minute Friday: Broken | Writing Canvas

  8. LOVE that scripture, and how He does that because of Christ! xo

Leave a Reply

