New Challenge; New Rainbow

???????????????????????????????????????

For most of my life I’ve been a morning person.  My parents rarely struggled to get me out of bed to go to school, okay, they didn’t struggle at all.  My routine was so consistent that they knew what time it was by the sound the water hitting the sink– I was the family alarm clock.

To the dismay of my college roommates, I kept my early routine.  I nearly dressed in the dark, and walked across a cold midwestern campus to eat breakfast before an 8 a.m. class, just to have time alone with God and my thoughts.

When I was a single, young high school social studies teacher I prided myself on getting to school by 6 a.m.  Giving myself bonus points for being the first car in the parking lot.   The quiet of a school can feel like a sanctuary when all is quiet except for the hum of the copier as it readies to go to work.

Then I got married to a night owl.  I suppose I was loosening my routine, and adjusting to a new life.  Now, almost 15 years later, I feel I’ve succumbed to the night owl lifestyle.  I enjoy staying up with my husband, and I like to have child-free time before my head hits the pillow.

If I’m honest though, this lifestyle doesn’t really work for me. 

It’s time to paint a new rainbow.

I’m joining the “HelloMornings! Challenge.”  I’m still figuring out all the details, but I think the goal is to make getting an early start (5:30 a.m.), before the family has awakened (like I used to do) to have to meditate on God’s Word, pray, and any other things that prepare me for the day ahead.  I’ve joined a Facebook “HelloMornings” group for accountability and  to experience an online Christian community.

Join me!  Click the “HelloMornings!” button, and it will take you to the registration page.  Let me know you’re joining me, and maybe we can be part of the same “HelloMornings!” Facebook group.  If you’re not local to me you can join a Facebook group in your time zone.  No fair you EST time zone people joining a PST time zone group!

Cheli

About Cheli Sigler

Finding and uncovering purpose in the roles of wife, mother, educator, and follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in April 2013, HelloMornings! Challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New Challenge; New Rainbow

  1. Okay I did it…..I just jumped in and signed up…… I know I won’t regret it. I’ve needed something like this my whole adult life. I’m excited about maybe finally having the discipline to get up before my family in this new chapter in my life. Thanks for sharing the idea. My encouragement to those of you reading this, just try it… see what happens.

  2. Cheli Sigler says:

    So glad we can do this together! Second morning went smoothly. I exercised first to wake up my body and brain. It seemed to help my quiet time.

  3. Marilyn Armstrong says:

    Great reminder: God provides times to honor others and times to come home and honor how HE created thee, and thee, and thee, and … — and me.

Leave a Reply

